Madd Designs

“Madd Designs” –

A car wreck on her sixteenth birthday is what set this fashion forward trendsetter on her greater adventure in life thus far.

Madison Herington, a sophomore at The University of Texas, is one of the many young entrepreneurs trying to make their way through school while juggling a small business on the side.

Herington is the creator and creative mind behind her jewelry business “Madd Designs”.

The company was started in 2010. Herington’s small business began with her making jewelry and selling it to her friends, but escalated when she launched her website at just 16 years old.

Herington explains that while her sisters were asking for the latest Chanel lipstick or Marc Jacob’s handbags for Christmas, “I was stressfully waiting to open my presents and see if I got the material I needed to make the dozens of shirts my friends had ordered from me; I was only eleven”.

Herington’s creative and artistic ability are no new talents. Herington has been a designer all her life. Luckily these talents came in handy at a crucial moment in her adolescent years.

“I got in a car wreck in a my brand new car on my sixteenth birthday. Needless to say I quickly needed to raise a large amount of money to show my parents I wasn’t that irresponsible. This is where the business side of my creative mind began,” states Herington.

Herington launched her “Madd Designs” website that same year and has only grown as a young entrepreneur since then. But juggling a business as a full time college student has posed difficulties.

“I always try to do my schoolwork first and jewelry second, but this doesn’t always work out. During my studies I need a break; this is where my design come in. When I need to get away and clear my head, I go straight for my tools,” explains Herington.

Madison spends roughly 18 hours a week on her jewelry.

When asked where her inspiratioin comes from Herington explained that she gets a lot of her ideas from the popular website, Pinterest. But also explained that a lot of her creative juices start flowing when she sits down with her tools, puts her headphones on and just, works.

“Her pieces are amazing. I saw a necklace on her Instagram and knew I had to have it. I texted her and she had it ready for me the following week. The necklace was well made and I love it,” says Caroline Brookshire, one of Herington’s customers.

Herington uses all forms of social media for her business. Word of mouth seems to be another beneficial tool towards her businesses success.

Trunk shows are hosted monthly in various cities at various locations. She sells her jewelry in local stores and boutiques as well as her website. Herington hopes for her business to continue to grow throughout the years.

Overall Herington’s favorite part of her jewelry design is that it has become apart of who she is.

Herington explains, “In a way, my jewelry defines me. It gives people a greater understanding of who I am. It has been a huge journey with ups and downs. I’ve almost quit multiple times, but I’m so glad I haven’t. I want to design jewelry for many more years.”

Madison working on her accounting homework.

Madison working on her accounting homework.

Madison works with different accessories to try to find the right one for this specific piece.
Madison works with different accessories to try to find the right one for this specific piece.
Madison works on one of her most desired pieces: the long leather necklace.
Madison focusing on one of her ordered pieces.
Madison focusing on one of her ordered pieces.
A close-up of Madison working on one of her most highly demanded earring designs.
A close-up of Madison working on one of her most highly demanded earring designs.
Madison working on some jewelry from her bed in her 2400 Apartment.
Madison working on some jewelry from her bed in her 2400 Apartment.
Madison works diligently on her last homework assignment before Spring Break.
Madison works diligently on her last homework assignment before Spring Break.
An assortment of Madison's finished
An assortment of Madison’s finished “Madd Designs” jewelry pieces.
A government and psychology spiral, sweatpants, and jewelry...all important aspects of Madison's life.
A government and psychology spiral, sweatpants, and jewelry…a few of the details from Madison’s day to day life.
A glimpse into the most important aspects of Madison's life. Photos of family and friends, her jewelry, and her school materials.
A glimpse into the most important aspects of Madison’s life. Photos of family and friends, her jewelry, and her school materials.
Leave a Reply

