Social Media Journalism

Spring semester of my junior year I took a class called Social Media in Journalism. Needless to say this was the coolest class I’ve taken so far at UT because it dealt strictly with 5 main social media platforms: Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram and Tumblr. Everyday we would sign up to run whichever platform we were assigned for an hour. For each of the platforms we could post about sports, entertainment or the news. During the class I mostly focused on entertainment and sports. Throughout the course I ran the @SocialnnSports/@SocialnnEnt/@Socialnn platforms for over 60 hours total. I learned a ton of new techniques and the ‘do’s and don’ts’ of social media. By the end of the semester I felt like a whiz when it came to sharing interesting content with followers. Not only did I have to run each of these platforms for an hour each day, I also had to keep my own Twitter account successfully running throughout the semester. Below I have attached the link to my Storify that I kept up with throughout the entire semester as well as my posts for our Instagram assignment –

https://storify.com/taylortillsonut/taylor-tillson-s-work-spring-2015#publicize

Screen Shot 2015-04-26 at 10.29.37 PM Screen Shot 2015-04-26 at 10.29.25 PM

Leave a Reply

